Musing Monday 8/24

I’ve been debating doing Musing Mondays for a while now. I’ve recently started Teaser Tuesday and Booking Through Thursday, but when I saw today’s topic, I had to respond.

Musing Mondays_(BIG)[5]The 8/24 Musing Monday topic: Do you prefer to read stand-alone books, or books in series? Do you stick with a series the whole way through or stop after the first instalment? Are there any particular series you enjoy?(question courtesy of Elena)

I think by looking at the list of books I’ve read in the past year, you can tell I’m a series girl. When I meet a character, I like to stay with  them and keep learning about them.

I’ve read all of the Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum novels but one. This year I’ve also read Son of a Witch, which is the second in the Wicked Years Series. I’ve read the second book in the Poseur series. I also read A Job to Kill For which is the second in the Lacy Field Mystery Series.

I read the first 12 Plum books one after the other, but since then, I’ve slowed down a little. On the other ones, I normally just read them when I get to them. I rarely ever go to the book store when a book is released, even if it is next in my series.

My favorite series is the Plum Series. Check out my book list and I’m sure you will be able to tell.

Every now and then I like to read a single novel to get my mind off things, but in the end, I think I’ll always come back to a series!

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Musing Monday

2 responses to “Musing Monday 8/24

  1. I agree, I like it when I can hang out with a character (or group of characters) for more than one book. In stand alone books, I often wonder what happens to a character when that particular story is over. Surely something else will take place during their lifetime (granted that they are still alive at the end of the book). I like that series answer some of those questions.

    And yes, the Stephanie Plum series is great for catching up with the group of characters because it goes on and on and on… I’m reading #6 right now 🙂

    • I liked Hot Six. I gave it 4 bookmarks. But I LOVED 7! It was my first Evanovich to get 5 bookmarks 🙂

      When I read, I REALLY get into the books. I fall in love with characters and they become part of me. The last book in a series is like a break up! I’m such a dork I know!

Leave a Reply

