Booking Through Thursday 8/13

Booking Through Thursday Booking Through Thursday asks a question each week. I just ran across the site and since I’m trying to blog a little more during the middle of my books, might as well start with this weekly post.

This week’s question: What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?

It’s been a while since I read it, but I’m going to have to say the first one that comes to mind that I just didn’t like was Chuck Palahniuk’s Choke. I’d read two other Palahniuk books and loved them. I knew that they pushed the limits, but Choke just left me in awe and feeling a little dirty.

Choke

This is from the back of the book: “Victor Mancini, a medical-school dropout, is an antihero for our deranged times. Needing to pay elder care for his mother, Victor has devised an ingenious scam: he pretends to choke on pieces of food while dining in upscale restaurants. He then allows himself to be “saved” by fellow patrons who, feeling responsible for Victor’s life, go on to send checks to support him. When he’s not pulling this stunt, Victor cruises sexual addiction recovery workshops for action, visits his addled mom, and spends his days working at a colonial theme park.”

Maybe I should have realized what I was getting into when I read the back of this.

Have you read it? How did you feel about it?

3 Comments

Filed under Book Through Thursday, Books

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday 8/13

  1. I haven’t read this one, but Chuck is pretty far-reaching within his genre. I think “feeling dirty” is a staple of his work, huh?

  2. I have read this one, and I actually really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

