AnnAlysis: Son of a Witch

Son of a Witch

Son of a Witch is Volume 2 in the Wicked Years series by Gregory Maguire. If you don’t know anything about the series, it shows you the other side of the Wizard of Oz. The first one, Wicked, lets you see the life of Elphaeba, the Wicked Witch of the West.

The series is a little more difficult to read compared to the girly murder mysteries I normally read. In both books, I’ve had to re-read parts and even look up words.

Speaking of words, I took note of a few words I had to look up: Quions, Unguents and Grousing. Those were all on the same page 😦

One thing I like about this series, much like Harry Potter, is that the world you read about is completely made up. I don’t think it’s as well written as the Harry Potter books, because JK Rowling was very good at being descriptive. These books are very detailed, but I didn’t feel like the explanations were great. I like to be able to close my eyes and see what I’m reading and in these books, I can do that at times, but not all of the time.

One thing I suggest is that you read these books back to back. I haven’t read Wickedin over a year and forgot most of it. So when it referenced some things, I had a hard time remembering. It came back eventually, but I wish I would had read them closer together.

One thing I really liked about this book was in the beginning, it bounced back and forth from the past to the present until finally they caught up with each other and went forward. I thought that was written very well.

The thing I liked the most about the first book was Elphaeba, and since she was killed, there wasn’t as much about her in this one. It took me a while to read because there were parts that really just lagged.

It was good, then it got slow, then it got good, then it was slow for a long time until the very last line. Then it ended. Crap! Now I’ll have to make sure I read A Lion Among Men which I guess is looking at the Lion’s life.

I only give this book 2 bookmarks. It wasn’t bad enough to be trashed, but it wasn’t good enough for me to read again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

