LinkedIn

So we all know I’m part of Facebook, Myspace, Twitter etc. But another social media site I’m part of it LinkedIn.

I’ve not spent as much time on LinkedIn as I have on the other sites. It is more of a social network site for the business world.  I became part of it before I finished college and think that if I wouldn’t have had a job waiting for me, I would have spent more time on it.

It is an online resume of sorts. On your profile, you can put your work experience, strengths and weaknesses (or however you want to word those).

At WSAZ there are 8 people (maybe more) that are on LinkedIn. I mean you know about your co-workers, but it’s fun to see their resumes and work experience.

I’m friends with a lot of college buddies on Facebook, but I like also being connected with them on here. If I would ever need to job search in the future, I can check out where they are working and do some networking through them. That’s not using is it?

I did a job search for “journalism” and it automatically pulled up jobs in my area. None with WSAZ, but there are a few with WOWK… argh the competitor 🙂

So, if you want to take your networking to the next level or if you’re looking for a job, I recommend LinkedIn. And now that I’ve been playing around on it today, I think I’m going to work on my profile and search for some more colleagues!

Leave a comment

Filed under Internet

Leave a Reply

