AnnAlysis: The Black Dahlia

Elizabeth Short AKA The Black Dahlia

This book has taught me, if I’m going to read a book about something that really happened, I need to do some research. Let me go ahead and throw this out there: This book uses some facts from the case, but fuses fact with fiction.  I didn’t know that until I got to the end of the book and read that the two main characters, other than the Dahlia were made up.  Before I got that far, I couldn’t understand why the case was never solved because the book told me who did it. Wow, did I feel dumb.

Before the last few chapters, I would have only given this book one bookmark. It was not what I expected. It is kind of dirty (yes, I’m being a prude again). There’s a lot of sex and it’s pretty morbid. I expected the morbidity, just not all the sex. Everything I read about the Dahlia says people speculated she was a hooker but it wasn’t true, so when the book kind of played off that, I didn’t know what to believe.

The last few chapters, however, bring it all together. I was very surprised at who was pegged the killer and even more surprised at how “Bucky” handled the news.

I’m more of a high heel and handbag book kind of girl. I personally would say this is more of a guys book about cops and boxing.

I did think it was written well. When I read it, I really felt like I was in the 40’s. I really like, looking back now, how many facts he used in the book and how he played off them to make this a novel.  Everyone can hear about a murder and put a story together about how it happened, but this was a good story.

Looking back at the writing, especially towards the end, I’m going to give this book 3 bookmarks. If you can push through the first 3/4 of the book, the last 1/4 is great and an intriguing read to find out who’s the Dahlia’s killer (fake killer, they never solved it).

If you would like to read the “Tru” story about the Dahlia, click here.  This site taught me the most about her, even though there really isn’t a lot to know. The 50 year mystery makes it intriguing, but also very sad. It’s not a case that will ever be solved because most likely, the killer isn’t around anymore. The only way I can see it truly coming out is if the person is still alive and on their death bed they spill or a diary comes out after they pass on. Chances of that happening, not likely.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

