Get Motivated!

Today I had the chance to “Get Motivated!”. For any of you who don’t know what “getting motivated” is, it’s a series of speakers talking anything from money to politics to the best way to motivate your coworkers.

I had the opportunity to hear from 8 speakers today. I took notes because I am a stabilizer. If you don’t know what that is, keep reading and shortly you’ll understand.  I wanted to share my notes with you. They may be able to help you, they may not. But I might as well share what I learned.

Krish Dhanam was the first speaker I saw. Thanks to Tom Ziglar (Zig Ziglar’s son for the name).  He is an Indian guy with a great personalisty and lots of great quotes. To learn more about Krish and the Zig Ziglar team, click here.

One of the first things he said stuck with me. 97% of of us work in the comfort zone.  3% work in the effective zone. Which are you?

He also said “You are not responsible for your heritage, but you’re accountable for your future”, “If somebody has to tell you who you are, you’re not taking ownership” and “If you’re grateful for the things you have, someday you’ll have more to be thankful for.”

Amanda Barren used this next acronym tonight on the news:    

Give more than you have  

Leave more than you take 

Offer praise to your inner circe   

Whose applause really matters?

He ended his speech by saying if you believe something significant will happen, it will happen.

I’m not big on money talk.  I really tried to listen when Phil Town took the stage.

phil town

He used this photo today in the speech, he definitely doesn’t look like this today, but it shows his roots and how he got where he is.  Now, as I said, the confusion set in quickly when he started talking investments, but if you’re interested, why not just take his advice? Click here to check out his site and books.

Tamara Lowe is the co-founder and Executive VP of the Get Motivated empire.  Lowe grew up in New Orleans in a part of town where she said they didn’t play doctor when they were kids, “we played autopsy”.  She didn’t go to high school and from ages 10-17 she was a drug dealer and addict.  Yes, she’s made quite a change.  Now, she says she’s gone “from LSD to PHD” as she just finished her master’s degree and is getting ready to start a doctorate program.

tamara lowe

The main point Tamara stressed is that each employee and co-worker has their own personal set of motivational DNA.

DNA

This chart shows what makes up your motivational D-N-A.

When it comes to drives, you are either a Producer or a Connector.

Producer: You are competitive, a natural leader, fast paced and result oriented. Things that demote you include co-workers not pulling their weight and group thinking projects.   

Connector: You are cooperative, friendly and talkative.  Something that demotes a connector is conflict.  In one word, a connector is about the RELATIONSHIPS.

When it comes to your needs, you are either about the Stability or Variety.

Stability:If stability is your thing, you like constancy, routine, structure, organization and like to work by the book. Things that motivate stability are facts, consistency and time to analyze.  Things that demotivate stability are fuzzy goals, disorder and inefficiency. In one word, stability is about FACTS.      

Variety:If variety is your your thing, you like change. You are spontaneous, persuasive, adventurous, like new ideas and no offense, but you’re bad at following through with projects (those are her words, not mine). Things that motivate variety are fun, freedom of expression and person growth.  Things that demotivate variety are rigid routines and bureaucracy. Variety in one word is FUN.

When it comes to Awards, you are either like Internal awards or External awards.

Internal: Internal awards mean you would rather have Appreciation without Bonus.  Accomplishment is one of the main things that motivates internal awards.  Not having the power to change things demotivates internal awards.  In one word, people who are “internal awards” are about CONTRIBUTION.                 

External:Things that motivate external awards include the opportunity to advance, money and public acknowledgement.  Lack of recognition, tasks without rewards and glass ceilings demotivate external awards.  In one word, people who are “external awards” are about OPPORTUNITY.

So, now that you know what each category is, choose one from each.  I for example and sure I am a Producer and Stability.  I have a hard time determining between Internal and External, so I’ve made myself and IE 🙂

Not only will this system help bosses find out which ways are best to motivate their employees, it can also help co-workers know who to work with each other. Figure out what your co-worker’s DNA is and then you’ll know what their wants and needs are.

I will definitely be buying Tamara Lowe’s book called Get Motivated!Bet you didn’t see that one coming 🙂

Steve Forbes spoke.  He was “live” via satellite. Honestly, I can’t tell you anything he said.  He was talking politics and economy (I think), but since he wasn’t there in person, a lot of people were moving around and it was hard to just watch the screen and stay with it. Sorry Steve!

steve forbes

The next name is one you may have heard of, maybe. Zig Ziglar took the stage with his daughter.

zig ziglar

Zig has been one of America’s most famous motivational speakers and at 82 years old, he’s not planning on kicking back anytime soon. His daughter took the stage with him, after a recent fall he’s not able to run around the stage as well as he once did. He also lost a bit of memory. So she helps him with his stories. It definitely shows how tight knit their family is.

I loved a lot about Zig. I had heard of him, but didn’t know much about him.  It saddens me to see “vintage” clips of Zig and compare them to today, but he’s still a motivation after all these years showing that “age ain’t nothing but a number”.

He said some great stuff today. One of my favorites was when he compared his wife to his American Express Card. He said he doesn’t leave home without her 🙂 I also liked what he had to say when he was asked if he’d be retiring soon, “I’m not going to ease up, give up or shut up until I’m taken up.”

Zig is definitely a southern gentleman. When he was asked, “What would be if you weren’t Baptist?”, his answer was classic: “If I weren’t Baptist, I’d be embarrassed.”

Did did have a few words of wisdom to pass on. He’s a “take what you’ve got” kind of guy. He said, take what you’ve got, improve on it, use it and make the best of it every day of your life. I think it’s pretty straight forward.

One thing I liked about a lot of these speakers is that many were about embracing what you have.  Yes, they wanted you to take action and start something, but we all know many of us aren’t going to put that $1000 in an investment or start buying real estate and fixing it up.  Each person seemed to, in the mix of the push, also tell you to hold on to what you have and make it a positive thing(s).

As I said before, Tom Ziglar, Zig’s son told me the name of Krish. When I talked about Zig yesterday, Tom started following me on Twitter (how cool is that?). And what is even cooler is he took the time to read this blog and gave me another tip for you guys:  “Tip – take one thing you learned from the event and put it in action this week, and your day invested will pay off big.” – Thanks Tom!

James Smith was kind of the black sheep of the group.  He was a little more hard core than the rest. He didn’t hold back, he called a woman a skank.

James Smith

He’s a money man too, so you’ve probably guessed it, I don’t have much to say. Lucky for you, there’s a website.

The one thing I got from his speech, other than some laughs, was your job is to plant a seed. God will water what you plant. I really like this because I think it shows that you don’t have to do it all. If you don’t have $100 to donate to charity, the $20 you have will work. You are starting something… I hope I’m getting this right 🙂

The man you’ve all been waiting for, drum roll please…..Rudy Giuliani.

Rudy Giuliani

The main point of Giuliani’s speech was leadership. His first question: Are you born a leader or are you made a leader? He then went on to explain what you have to do to be a leader.

6 Lessons of Leadership                                                                                                                                                                                               1. You have to have strong beliefs in what you’re trying to achieve. You have to believe in yourself and your missions. 

2. You have to be an optimist. If you have a problem, take it and turn it into a question (How can I solve this?) and use that question to solve your problem.     

3. You have to have courage. Everyone faces fear in their lives, the big part is overcoming it.  He used firefighters as examples here: They may be afraid to go into the house, but they have to save the people inside. They have to get over their fears.      

4. You need relentless preparation. He also used firefighters with this, as well as soldiers. But not only does this apply to people who face war and flames everyday, it applies to everyone. We have to practice and practice hard so we can do well under pressure. “If you’ve practiced, you can recover. If you are familiar with what you are doing, you’ll do it better and calmer.”   

5. You have to have teamwork. “A single individual never achieves anything.” You need to ask “What are my weaknesses?” and find people who are strong at your weaknesses to make a strong team.    

6. You have to communicate. You need to explain what you want and need.

On top of all this, Giuliani said, “You have to love people.” Your co-workers are not “robots.” The most important thing it to be there when things are going wrong rather than when things are going right and you need to work on helping them.

The last speaker was Bob Kittell.

Bob Kittell

I actually really liked Bob’s ideas and if I was at a different stage in my life (I’m 22 I know, but time really isn’t something I have extra of to throw around) then I probably would have signed up for his workshop.

He’s a web guy who wants to teach you to be successful. He has three goals for that:    

1. Visualization (close your eyes and think about your dream car….now go get it)        

2. Surround yourself with positive people  

3. Take action

Bob showed a lot of sites and a lot of people who have gotten their websites up and running and are now very successful. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for books and other things he has going on in the future.  Check him out on Facebook or LinkedIn.

So, all in all, I think it was a productive day. If you weren’t able to go, and you’ve been able to get this far without falling asleep, I hope you learned something to pass on to someone else. If not, I appologize for boring you with 1800+ words.

I would give the Get Motivated! conference 4 out of 5 stars, you can’t like everyone. Check out the Get Motivatedwebsite if you want to learn more.

Let me know if you were there and you have anything to add to this!

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Get Motivated!

  1. Great Report! Thanks for sharing. The Indian man’s name is Krish Dhanam. He is on the Ziglar team and you can find him at http://www.ziglar.com. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts. Tip – take one thing you learned from the event and put it in action this week, and your day invested will pay off big.

    Tom Ziglar
    Proud son of Zig Ziglar

  2. Carrie Cline

    Hey Kari- That was very enlightening! Thanks so much for sharing! I now really wish I were there! I may buy a few of the speakers’ books though. Nice job. Glad to know a little more about your DNA! 😉

  3. I add my kudos to Tom’s! You’re a superstar! How many people would take such attentive and insightful notes and distill their brilliance for all the world within 12 hours of a jam-packed, content-rich seminar like Get Motivated? Not many, I can tell you that!

    Kari Ann, you are one of those people in the audience that I was speaking to when I said, “Many of you have books in you.” And, “Don’t just write a book– put the work in and write a timeless classic.” You have the ability to do that!

    Thank you for sharing the Motivational DNA framework with your readers. For those who would like to take a FREE Motivational DNA profile, you can do it online at http://www.GetMotivatedBook.com. Please pick up a few books while you’re there too, because 100% of the proceeds are benefitting 36 children’s charities including World Vision, Compassion International, Feed the Children and Toys for Tots!

    Enthusiastically,

    Tamara Lowe

  4. I just attended the session in Hershey, PA yesterday. Each speaker had unique gifts and shared the information from their hearts. I strongly encourage others to attend. I took copious notes and then shared them with others. I am also putting together an order for the Get Motivated books. Thanks for a wonderful day of encouragement and motivation.

Leave a Reply

