AnnAlysis: Can You Keep a Secret?

Can You Keep a Secret

After reading the Memory Keeper’s Daughter, I knew I needed something light. So, I chose Sophie Kinsella’s Can You Keep a Secret?

I have read her Confessions of a Shopoholic series and loved it.  I know Kinsella’s books are funny and other than the continent barrier, pretty easy quick reads.

I really related to the main character Emma in this book. I have a HARD time keeping secrets.  If its super important or it will hurt someone, I am a master, but I often tell too much to too many people.  I can definitely see myself in Emma’s position, clutching the airplane seat in front of me and getting all my secrets off my chest. When I reach Heaven’s gates, secrets won’t keep me back 🙂

Kinsella lives in England, so most of her stories are based from there.  I’ve been to Europe, but England wasn’t one of my stops. I always love reading about it because it sounds so pristine… I mean they have a Queen. I imagine it being such a different life than over here.

Another plus about this book, it made me laugh. I laugh A LOT and normally it doesn’t take much, but when a book makes me laugh, it gets bonus points. I get lost in my books. When I come home from work, I want to forget about all the cruddy news going on and want to relax in someone else’s life and if I can laugh while doing it, I’ll definitely sleep better at night. That also means I’ll be less grouchy the next day, so if you’ve read books that’ve made you laugh, for my Mikey and my co-workers sake, please pass them along!

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book.  I don’t understand what some of the London lingo means. I know “knickers”. But that’s only because I watched the Beckham special when they came to the States and Victoria got into an earthquake simulator and was talking about her knickers.

I have a bad habit of getting attached to characters. And I’m just going to put this out there: I HATED JEMIMA! Yeah, her pops paid rent, but what a cruddy friend. Rants make me feel better. Jemima Who? 🙂

This book did it for me….like the other Kinsella books. So, I give it 4 bookmarks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

