AnnAlysis: Seven Up

Originally Posted: February 26, 2009

Janet Evanovich’s Seven Up has been my favorite one so far.

Within the first few pages, I seriously laughed out loud. I was told that her books were funny and other readers told me they laughed out loud. I was waiting for it. And not only did it happen once, there were 3 or 4 times where I caught myself laughing.

And I forgot this from Hot Six, but I love Bob. Stephanie has a hamster named Rex, who is … well a hamster. He runs on his wheel, lounges in his soup can and loves the occasional grape as a snack. But Bob on the other hand is great. He’s a big dog, great for sniffing a random behind and doing the deed in the enemy’s yard. Gotta love dogs!

All of my favorite characters played big roles in this book. I love Grandma Mazur. She cracks me up. Always talking about doodles (don’t you wish you knew?) and wants to be a bounty hunter. She has a vette … how cool is that? When she gets kidnapped, she thinks it’s kinky. I probably wouldn’t be thrilled if my grandparents acted like this, but hey it makes a great read.

And, I love the Mooner. Yeah, he’s a stoner, but how can you not love a guy who dresses in full body spandex and thinks he’s a super hero?

And of course … RANGER! He is being a little fresh with Stephanie when she is supposed to be engaged, which is never cool , but what’s a novel without a little spice? Don’t condone it in real life, but in the books, why not?

One thing that I wasn’t so fond of … yes, it’s lame: I had some bad dreams. I am a wimp, I love scary movies and books, but they stick with me in slumber. I kept having dreams I’d wake up and creepers were in my room. NOT COOL. All the B&E finally caught up. I also kept dreaming about crazy old women trapping people in her basement, but … that’s a completely different story.

I never thought it would happen, but I give Seven Up 5 bookmarks.

*All views, opinions and statements expressed on this website and related blog are exclusively those of Kari Adkins, who assumes full responsibility for all opinions, statements and other content present herein*

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

