AnnAlysis: Hard Eight

Originally Posted: March 8, 2009

There was quite a bit of hype to follow Seven Up. Needless to say, Hard Eight didn’t do it.

There were a few things I liked about the book.
1: I love Stephanie’s niece Mary Alice. How can you not love a kid who thinks she’s a horse?

2: I also like the creativity of the murder. I know it’s morbid, but you gotta love the brain of someone who can be so creative. To get a dead man into an apartment, he is cut in half and placed in gym bags so they are inconspicuous. Clever, to say the least.

3: After so many books, you have to get creative with the bad guys. This time they wore costumes. I like the creativity, but it’s hard to take a guy in a bunny suit seriously, even if he is throwing fire bombs at you.

4. Albert Klaughn (Clown) .. enough said. I love the Clown. He reminds me of an 8 year old girl wanting to know everything she can about the world in as little time as possible. I imagine the numerous questions he asks come out a mile a minute.

On paper, it seems like “What else can you ask for?” But, I thought the book was kind of blah. Those things stood out, but in 300 pages, that’s really not a lot. They can’t all be 5s.

I give Hard Eight 2 bookmarks.
*All views, opinions and statements expressed on this website and related blog are exclusively those of Kari Adkins, who assumes full responsibility for all opinions, statements and other content present herein*

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

